We all understand that every decision we make in life has consequences. In some cases, the consequences for our decisions are good. However, in other cases, the consequences aren’t so great. The latter is the case when it comes to deciding to drive while under the influence of alcohol.
Hundreds of thousands of people make the decision to drive after engaging in the consumption of alcohol, many of them in the state of Indiana. For those who get caught, there are a litany of punishments and fines they face in order to pay restitution for breaking the law. However, the severity of these punishments pale in comparison to what happens to the individuals who injure or kill someone else while driving OWI. Here’s what you need to know about OWI laws in Indiana.
On your first offense, arrest, and conviction, you should expect to pay several hundred, up to $1000 in fines. Of course, this is in addition to the thousands that you should set aside to pay your lawyer to represent you. You should also expect to spend a couple of days in jail as well as the potential to spend up to 30 days in a drug and alcohol rehabilitation program. And, of course, you should be expecting to lose your driving privilege for at least a year.
Your second offense will present many of the same penalties, however the severity of those penalties will be more severe. For example, you will be expected to spend up to a week in jail, pay a minimum of $1,000 in fines and can potentially lose your driving privileges for up to 2 years. And, of course, another stint in drug and alcohol rehabilitation, this time up to 60 days. And, let’s not talk about what happens during your third offense. The penalty phase for a third time offender may classify you as a habitual offender, which can cost you your driving privileges forever among many other things.
The good news about your first three offenses is that they are still considered misdemeanors, even though the penalties are harsh. However, if you are working on your 4th offense or someone was hurt or killed during your OWI, you have just moved into felony territory. The penalties are significant in this stage, ranging from up to 1 year in jail mandatory to 3 or more and a litany of fines and more. And, when you are convicted of a felony, your record will follow you forever, preventing you from holding many jobs, carry firearms legally and much more.
Arrest Records are public records and are something that carry a high price, much too high to justify making the wrong decision to drive after consuming alcohol. Make a better choice and call a cab, reserve an Uber or get a ride from a friend or a family member and save yourself the long hard road of dealing with an OWI arrest and conviction. Click here for more information.
Arrest Records are public records and are easily accessible thanks to the Internet. Visit today to learn more about OWI arrest records and more.